Free shipping on orders over $99.99! Don't miss out!
$33.20 In Stock
Interlux Interstain Wood Filler Stain
$33.20In Stock
Write A Review
4.6
Based on 9 Reviews
  • 5 Star

    78%

  • 4 Star

    11%

  • 3 Star

    0%

  • 2 Star

    11%

  • 1 Star

    0%

Reviews for Interlux Interstain Wood Filler Stain

9 of 9 Reviews

July 12, 2020

Perfect match!
By LThomas from Wantage, NJ

Verified Purchase

Easy to use, it fills and stains. The Color (Brown Mahogany) was a perfect match for the Philippine Mahogany on my deck. I used it on seat backs made from Marine Plywood (Fir?) that needed to match the Mahogany deck. I did some filling on the plywood using West System epoxy mixed with their wood flour filler. The stain colored it as well as the raw wood. Finished with 3 coats of varnish. Looks great.

May 19, 2020

I would buy this product again
By Jim from Grosse Ile mi

Verified Purchase

Follow the directions and this product does what it supposed to do.

February 4, 2018

Great stuff
By doc from Cape Cod

You cant get the surfacing putty anymore to fill holes, so I had to fill with epoxy and of course was concerned that when it came time to use the 1579 filler/stain it would not work. To my delight both the mahogany wood and the places where I used epoxy stained identically....Yahoooo

April 9, 2017

Very easy to use
By MacSomes from Georgetown, ME

This product worked perfectly on my mahogany brightwork. The small can will cover a surprisingly large area when thinned with the recommended thinner. The stain is brushed on and then wiped off with a rag (you'll need lots of rags). The color produced is very consistent without any streaking or blotchiness. Fool proof IMO. I used a variety of mahogany stock on my boat, and this product made it look like it all came from the same tree.

August 7, 2013

Great product from a dependable company
By Joe from Long Branch, NJ

Verified Purchase

Used on my 1962 Grady White. Used in several applications to get desired color.

December 8, 2010

Refinishing mahogany trim
By Talaria from North East

I stripped the hatches and other trim components on my 1953 Hinckley. Thought about using a common household product until I noticed it wasn't for external use. Did a little research and purchased this product based on recommendations. It sealed nicely in one coat, and left a really smooth and nicely colored surface to start the varnish build-up which has gone very well.

June 14, 2010

Great product
By donofish from So Cal

Great stain fills the Mohag pores, The color is redish brown not red Must use the 0333 thinner

March 18, 2010

Great filler & stain rolled into one!
By Lizzi from Corpus Christi, TX

A little goes a long way! Follow the directions on the can! You can thin this product down to meet your needs. If you want more filling qualities, use less thinner. If you want more of a stain, use more thinner. I used the "Brown Mahogany" stain on bare teak. When you first apply it, it looks like a warm red but by the time you work it into the grain and wipe off the excess, the color tones down a bit. When it's dry, you can even out any imperfections with Interlux Brush Thinner 333 and a piece of cheesecloth. I finished off the project with "Interlux Satin Varnish" and it toned down the color even more, bringing out more of the warm amber of the teak, creating a very close match to the surrounding wood on our boat. "Interstain" is very forgiving to use and has excellent filling qualities for small imperfections in the wood.

October 28, 2019

This is not "Brown Mahogany"
By Nick_name from Fairmont WV

Verified Purchase

The color is very orange, not even close to red and certainly not brown. Glad I used it on a piece of scrap to test prior to applying to my project. It appears to be good wood filler although it dries very quickly and needed to solvent-dampened rag to remove all of the excess.

1 of 1