Free shipping on orders over $99.99! Don't miss out!
$14.65 Limited Stock
BoatLIFE Lifeseal
$14.65Limited Stock
Write A Review
3.14
Based on 8 Reviews
  • 5 Star

    50%

  • 4 Star

    13%

  • 3 Star

    0%

  • 2 Star

    0%

  • 1 Star

    38%

Reviews for BoatLIFE Lifeseal

8 of 8 Reviews

April 30, 2015

Additional installation tip
By CAREYR from DUBUQUE, IA

Verified Purchase

I've already posted a review but want to share an excellent tip from an experienced glazier friend. 1. Tape off both sides of the joint to be filled. 2. Slightly overfill the joint with sealant. 3. Using the bottom of the caulking tube (preferably an empty one)simply push the bottom end of the tube forward through the joint, collecting the excess sealant into the inside bottom of the tube. The joint will instantly be finished tooling - and look professional. 4.Immediately (and carefully) remove all masking from around the joint, then clean up any overspills on the surface around the joint. 5.The job s complete!

April 30, 2015

The right stuff
By CAREYR from DUBUQUE, IA

Verified Purchase

I am installing new polycarbonate cabin windows on my old sailboat and after much research settled on Life Seal to bed them in. I was pleased to find that J.D. carries the product because my orders always arrive from them quickly and with no surprises. Life Seal is the one product I found, designed specifically to work with the expansion and contraction of polycarbonate, combined with high adhesion capabilities. It works. I bought a tube for each window, also a can of the Boat Life Solvent. The black sealant that I used can be extremely messy and the solvent was a lifesaver. Plan your job carefully. The working time of Life Seal is about 10 minutes and all joint tooling must be complete in that time.

June 19, 2014

It worked
By GARRETTF from GAINESVILLE, GA

Verified Purchase

Used it to glue a bilge pump to floor of bilge.Seems to be doing the job.

August 18, 2013

Gread deck hardware and chain plate seal
By Mark from New Bern, NC

When rebedding chain plates, new Life Seal will adhere to the old Life Seal so you don't have to clean off all the old when removing and resealing. Tools and fairs easily and quickly with finger. Sticks to stainless and fiberglass with moderate strength, but still removable. The only product I use to bed deck hardware anymore. I use 5200 on screws and thru hulls, Life seal everywhere else. Caulks showers well and doesn't peel off like pure silicone does.

April 9, 2014

GREAT STUFF
By Cynical1 from Columbia, SC

Verified Purchase

I used Lifeseal for water tanks, Solar deck vents (was able to remove a plastic deck vent that had been in place for about 20 years without destroying it, and the rubbery sealing surface showed absolutely no signs of water intrusion) and wished I had used it in other places where the products couldn't handle the sun and/or I wanted to remove the hardware for replacement or repair. I just reinstalled my chainplates and can't think of a better product to insure water doesn't get behind them and allow the stainless steel corrode.

June 27, 2018

MESSY
By BOB NEWBIE from WA

USED ON A BROKEN SEAM. LEFT A HORRID MESS AND DIDN'T HARDEN AT ALL!

March 11, 2012

Exact same problem as previous reviewer.
By Mike from Havre de Grace, MD

I attempted to do the same thing as the previous reviewer, re-bed a piece of lexan in a metal frame hatch. I had the exact same problems as the previous reviewer: a gooey, non-curing mess. I would avoid this product.

April 26, 2011

Did not cure and made a holy mess
By Todd from Northport NY

Used a 10oz cartridge to seal a Lexan lens to a metal hatch frame. Still a gooey mess after 2 weeks, and when it rained it left black streaks on the decks. Awful job to clean it all off to re-do the job. My guess is that the curing agent separated from the sealant while on the store shelf. Poor shelf life. Don't gamble with this.

1 of 1