Free shipping on orders over $99.99! Don't miss out!
$37.27 In Stock
Balsa Core - ProBalsa
$37.27In Stock
Balsa Core - ProBalsa, marine balsa, boat core balsa wood
Write A Review
4.8
Based on 17 Reviews
  • 5 Star

    76%

  • 4 Star

    24%

  • 3 Star

    0%

  • 2 Star

    0%

  • 1 Star

    0%

Reviews for Balsa Core - ProBalsa

10 of 17 Reviews

December 7, 2020

I would buy this product again.
By Paul from Va.

Verified Purchase

Used it for coring for a hatch.

January 23, 2018

Excellent quality. I will be buying more.
By Losttime from City Island, N.Y.

Verified Purchase

Re-cored the front deck of my 1975 Chris Craft Sport Fish. I had excellent results.

August 17, 2017

I would buy this again.
By Fromhold from Cullman, AL

Verified Purchase

It came well packed and was just like the picture.

March 25, 2017

Balsa
By Adam from Ct

Verified Purchase

Easy to use

August 12, 2016

Exactly what I needed for my '69 14' Pintail deck core
By Dan - Pintail 105 from Oconomowoc, WI

Verified Purchase

My circa '69 14' Pintail had water saturated end-grain balsa deck core. This was exactly what I needed to replace this and rejuvenate this classic sailboat.

July 23, 2015

Great product
By Tom from York, PA

Verified Purchase

Sandwich between two layers do fiberglass, this wood becomes very ridge.

May 8, 2013

Easy to use Balsa
By A sailor from Cleveland, OH

I had a small soft spot in the deck around an inspection plate. I had access to remove the bad core and replace it with the new balsa. After epoxying the balsa in place I remounted the inspection plate.

April 11, 2012

Well worth money
By alex from newton yacht club from boston ma

Used it for deck repairs. If you have spongy decks or roof my advise is to do sounding testing with mallet and precisely mark out area that has wet or roten core with marker. Then cut top skin using skil saw and pry out remaining balsa. save top skin. clean/prepare bottom skin. use top skin as template to trase shape on balsa. lay balsa with thikened epoxy prewetting with unthikened epoxy. use west system notched spreader. lay top skin. add weights or drill holes and use butterfly ancors to tie down sandwich. next day grind a recess in top skin. lay 1708 tape . next day sand and do some fairing job. good luck

December 6, 2011

Answer to Gary's question
By Rick from Beverly , Ma.

To answer Gary's questions. I used 3/8 thick but 1/2 inch would have been better. It is not primed but that wasn't a problem. I used West systems epoxy and had no problems. Make sure the old core is cleaned out really well so that the epoxy and new core will bond realy well, saturate really well and cover with cloth and it should work great.

September 30, 2009

Aft Cabin Roof
By Schools out from Skaneateles, NY

We had to replace the roof of the aft cabin and the floor to the fly bridge of a Marine Trader 34 because the teak decks had leaked. We cut out the core (plywood squares) and replaced it with balsa, fiberglass and west system. The area is now VERY strong and water tight.

1 of 2