Free shipping on orders over $99.99! Don't miss out!
$44.02 In Stock
Caviness Basswood Boat Oars
$44.02In Stock
Caviness Basswood Boat Oars
Write A Review
3.15
Based on 10 Reviews
  • 5 Star

    40%

  • 4 Star

    20%

  • 3 Star

    10%

  • 2 Star

    10%

  • 1 Star

    20%

Reviews for Caviness Basswood Boat Oars

10 of 10 Reviews

May 26, 2020

Very light, and very nice quality for the price
By Dan from Connecticut

These are beautiful, and much lighter than I thought they would be. Finish is nice, maybe not the most premium you may get from an expensive oar dealer or something, but for my use they are perfect. Ordering online and shipping was an extremely smooth process. I am using them as a backup method of propulsion in case of engine trouble on my 14' wooden Tango skiff. They will do the trick for sure. Very nice product! Thanks Jamestown.

August 14, 2012

Wow just wahat I wanted
By Tiny from Coral, MI

Wow I ordered a pair of the 8' oars and got them in about 4 days even though they were out of stock when I ordered. They are great. The finish is not furnature quality but is better than I expected. I may add a coat of varnish later. Great value and service for a hard to find item. I am looking forward to using them on my 14' deep vee rowboat.

October 24, 2011

more than i ever thought was possible
By river rat from ludington,mi

i use the oars for river trips and love them. light weight, good control,and very comfortable. mine have a great finish and great wood grain. i did put two more coats of marine varnish on them for piece of mind. all oars should come with padded grips and these did not.like em...

July 10, 2008

Great rows.
By JT from Anderson, SC

I purchased these oars to replace a pair that I had had for years. The grandsons managed to lose one and one oar doesn't work real well. Factory finish is minimal so I will sand down and apply several layers of varnish. The wood working is excellant. Good value for the bucks spent.

December 6, 2010

Good Value
By Capt. Mike from Bristol, RI

Caviness Basswood Oars are a great value for the price. They are perfect fit for skiffing out to mooring and poking around the harbor. Admittedly the finish is disappointing and coarse. I found it more cost effective to improve this easily myself with a quick 180 grit sand and 2 overcoats of polyurethane. Any finish or paint will improve these oars to help prolong the life and integrity of wood. These oars are lightweight and stiff with a narrower shaft than older traditional oars. Solid hardwood oars typically cost twice to 3x as much. This oar meets expectations for value price. Oars and paddles are sold individually, not in pairs.

October 7, 2008

Great Value!
By Jim from Wilmington, MA

I use them to row a 14' row boat I use for fishing. The oars are light weight so they are easy to handle. They could use additional finish coatings to protect and prolong the life of these oars.

August 10, 2008

Functional but mismatched wood colors
By jjohnson from Mississippi

These oars are priced well and seem to be well constructed, other than the fact that they have almost no varish and the wood color is mismatched. This would not have been a problem to me had boath oars been the same, one was a solid color, the other had three diferent color pieces of wood glued together.[...]

September 1, 2008

small diameter
By John from Charlestown, MD

First reviewer is right, the oars need another coat of poly on them. I don't know whay he rated something that would need hours of additional word as being 5 out of 5 stars. The shaft diameter is 1 5/16ths inches, which is smaller than most oar lock collars and oar locks. Now I have to buy new, smaller oar locks. You get what you pay for.

March 20, 2010

Oars don't match!
By Hydrologist from Lakeland, FL

I have an 8-foot Caviness oar and ordered a second to have a pair. Unfortunately, the diameters and lengths don't match. This is very disappointing. The finish is minimal, but that is not a problem as I was planning to sand and finish both to match.

December 17, 2008

Would not buy again.
By Rich from Michigan

These are crudely built and poorly finished. One was 1/2 inch longer and was not finished on the end. Grips were also 1/2 inch off. I may return them but the shipping is a problem. They will not make your dinghy look good.

1 of 1