Free shipping on orders over $99.99! Don't miss out!
$66.61 Out of Stock
Interlux VC Performance Epoxy
$66.61Out of Stock
Write A Review
4.6
Based on 18 Reviews
  • 5 Star

    78%

  • 4 Star

    11%

  • 3 Star

    0%

  • 2 Star

    11%

  • 1 Star

    0%

Reviews for Interlux VC Performance Epoxy

10 of 18 Reviews

May 18, 2021

Just spray it
By Wisconsin Boatbuilder from Menomonie, WI

Hard like gel coat. Not high gloss, but pleasantly smooth and oddly slick. Seems durable. Don't even pretend to roll and tip this stuff, however. It will NOT lay flat on its own, even at higher temps and well-thinned with brushing solvent. I laid on 1/2 a gallon with a roller and brush then had to sand it nearly all off because of the brush marks. Since the paint is exceptionally hard this was a miserable chore. After that painful experience, I sanded with 80 grit, then 120 grit with a Dual Action sander (3M Corp). Then, I got a good HVLP sprayer and diluted the paint 20% with Interlux 2333N brushing solvent. The paint does not readily sag or drip so I laid on four relatively thick coats. This worked great. Once the paint dried and cured, it looked outstanding. There were still faint swirl marks after 3 coats, so a more thorough sanding with the 120 grit or a 220 grit final hand wet-sand might be called for. I'll be interested to see how it performs one the boat is in the water. For now, though, I'm quite pleased with this finish!

August 10, 2020

A rock hard finish worth the wait.
By Dave from Tulsa, OK

Verified Purchase

My 18' Bass Boat needed some minor repairs to the underside of the fiberglass hull. Research came up with a two part polyurethane epoxy that racing vessels used called V C Perfomance by Interlux. It provided a desired hard epoxy coating with an unexpected low coefficient of friction. The product comes in a 2 part kit in quart and gallon sizes. I ordered 1 quart size kit and then another because i needed additional coats. I was able to apply it with a roller and tipped the epoxy with a fine brush for a mirror like finish. It came out great and was worth the wait!

August 7, 2020

Worked as advertised.
By Steve from Cleveland Ohio

Verified Purchase

Great service by technical advisors at Jamestown Distributors. Made all the difference in the world.

May 14, 2019

Brush marks
By Southern Maryland Fiberglass from MD

For those of you complaining about the difficulty you can have rolling/tipping or just brushing this product...yes it is difficult. But READ the data sheet and it is very clear this coating was designed for spray application. Dont assume all paints or coatings are applied in the same manner.

October 29, 2013

I would buy this product again and agai
By SkipperP21 from Syracuse, NY

Verified Purchase

Tough coating put over Interprotec 2000e for trailered sailboat. Also adds additional protection against osmosis in fiberglass boats.

March 12, 2012

This is a great product!
By Chris Stand Up Jet Ski Restoring from Dexter, MI

Nothing beats the hardness of the two part mix for the bottom of a hull. I used this on the bottom of a stand up jet ski. I wanter sanded it and I now have a super smooth hull. This is a great product.

July 30, 2010

Excellent results!!!!
By Jay Dawg from Chesterfield, Virginia

I used the VC Underwater epoxy when restoring a 1963 fiberglass Starcraft for my son. It is excellent paint for anyone wanting a hard, slick finish. I applied it with a standard spray gun using 40 psi. It went on perfect with no runs. Recoat after 15 minutes. I used 3 heavy coats and the finish is like factory gelcoat[...]Excellent product from an outstanding distributor.

September 18, 2009

Works great
By fmrmsr from Boston

It gets very hard very quickly therefore if you intend to sand it you must jump on it as soon as possible. To get the best possible spray surface finish it needs to be reduced 10 - 20% which is more than the tech sheet recommends.

June 1, 2009

Great to roll on with 4" foam.
By Careless Navigator from Tennessee

Do your best prep work and the application will be smooth. 3 coats did a great job on my daysailer after many hours of sanding off old anti-fouling copper paint.

May 13, 2009

Interlux VC underwater Epoxy
By Lenny from Charleston South Carolina

This was the first time I used the product. I usually use gel coat, especially on decks since it is harder than epoxies. This product was very easy to spray. I had no problem with runs or sagging even though I put on heavy coats. And, it wet sanded easily (did this within 24 hours of last coat) followed by buffing. Although the finish is not a "bright finish" it is perfect for what it is designed to do. I would receommend it to anyone who does not have the skill to spray gel coat as a "finish coat."

1 of 2