Free shipping on orders over $99.99! Don't miss out!
$50.85 Limited Stock
Buck Algonquin Bronze Ribbed Horn Oarlocks
$50.85Limited Stock
Write A Review
3.13
Based on 11 Reviews
  • 5 Star

    9%

  • 4 Star

    45%

  • 3 Star

    18%

  • 2 Star

    18%

  • 1 Star

    9%

Reviews for Buck Algonquin Bronze Ribbed Horn Oarlocks

10 of 11 Reviews

July 20, 2017

Bronze Ribbed Horn Oarlocks
By Philip from Philadelphia Pa

Update from my May/17 review, added additional photo of my safety lanyard.

September 5, 2020

Needed Work
By Flyfishing Fool from Whidbey Island, WA

Verified Purchase

The castings are rough. I spent time with a spindle sander to smooth the interior of the horns. They are good now but I expect others that purchased these oarlocks without skill necessary to smooth finish would be unhappy.

May 10, 2017

Bronze Ribbed Horn Oarlocks
By Phil from Philadelphia, Pa.

Solidly built, has the lanyard for safety chain, they have a rough cast finish that can be ground & polished to look pretty good.

May 11, 2012

High Quality Oarlocks
By Ben from MD

Have not used product yet. Bought for a cedar strip boat I am making.

April 12, 2010

Solidly constructed
By Capt. Jim from Wisconsin

These oarlocks are well constructed and look nice on my "Yankee Tender" skiff. They do not have a smooth finish, but are robust and attractive in a rustic sort of way.

July 23, 2008

Good hardware from Buck
By Jacoby from Reedsport, OR

I bought these horns and the matching Buck sockets. The Buck hardware is as cast- not polished which is OK by me. Well made and fits right. I don't care much for zinc hardware and am willing to pay for bronze.

July 18, 2018

Buck Algonquin bronze ribbed horn oarlocks
By Rowboat Bob from Finger Lakes - NY state.

Verified Purchase

Shipping was great - arrived in a few days after ordered. Oarlocks are nice and sturdy. Only issue we had was that the inside of the oarlocks were very rough, and started to chew up the oar leathers. I had to spend about an hour to go out, buy a small cylindrical grinding stone, chuck it into an electric drill in a vise and grind the insides smooth. Given the price, I would have expected a better finish. Recommend? Only if you are willing to do the finish work on the horns. If I had the choice I would put recommend with reservations. Since bottom line does not offer that choice I am forced to say no.

April 28, 2010

good design; rough fit to sockets
By skkippy from CA

These were the only rowlocks I found with side attachment for a lanyard - which I wanted. Locks had a high spot which bound in sockets until I spent a few minutes with valve grinding compound - sandpaper would also have worked. Rest of fit is adequate but loose.

July 1, 2015

Should be serviceable without excessive gringing
By bluebear from Sequim, Wa.

Verified Purchase

The reason I bought these oarlocks was the cast lanyard ring. This is a rare feature that is missing on most oarlocks, even quality ones. I knew they would be rough, but expected them to be functional. The shaft was ground off center so that there are high friction areas that cannot be milled without creating a loose fit.

April 16, 2010

Very Rough Casting
By Hank from Brookhaven, Long Island, NY

The casting is very rough (course sand?) with a pronounced 'parting seam' ridge inside the oarlocks. The shafts were too tight for the sockets(which were not listed in the online catalog) and needed to be sanded down to fit. In all, count on a days work to make them serviceable and somewhat esthetically pleasing.

1 of 2