Free shipping on orders over $99.99! Don't miss out!
$39.99 In Stock
TotalBoat Aluminum Boat Barrier Coat Primer
$39.99In Stock
Write A Review
4.5
Based on 17 Reviews
  • 5 Star

    76%

  • 4 Star

    12%

  • 3 Star

    6%

  • 2 Star

    0%

  • 1 Star

    6%

Reviews for TotalBoat Aluminum Boat Barrier Coat Primer

10 of 17 Reviews

July 16, 2021

Good Job
By Skip from Mansfield Ohio

Verified Purchase

This turned out to be a very good experience for me. My boat turned out great!

June 3, 2021

Good stuff
By Tom from Chittenango ny

Verified Purchase

Did my boat bottom was leaking.not leaking now in water for 1 week

May 31, 2021

Excellent product
By Jim from Jersey shore

Verified Purchase

Aluminum boat bottom

May 26, 2021

Does what it's supposed to
By Beerbug from Florida

Verified Purchase

Not quite as thick as the fiberglass boat type but ends up being the same

April 20, 2021

I will NEVER buy anything else!!!!
By Marina Life from Dale Hollow

Verified Purchase

Easy to apply, Great coverage and quality finsih

June 25, 2020

Nice and think
By Captain Ryan from Iowa

Verified Purchase

It went on great. I like the way it turned out. It is going to be nice bullet proof layer. I did not add brushing paint thinner. I wish I would have added a little paint thinner just so the paint wasn't so thick while working with it.

July 1, 2019

TOUGH STUFF
By okant from Middlebury, VT

Verified Purchase

This product is exactly what I was looking for as a barrier coat on an 28' aluminum boat. Applied the product per the directions and the primer has excellent adhesion, cured well and sanded well when I had to apply bottom paint at the location of the boat stands.

June 30, 2019

Yes
By Bill from Vermont

Verified Purchase

My aluminum canoe was in need of paint job, first I power washed to remove all loose paint particles, sanded some rough areas and used some BJ Weld to tighten up some of the leaks. Mixed up the TotalBoat Aluminum barrier coat primer (3 to1), it all fit in the quart can, mix well. Used a foam 4" hot dog roller and rolled out the canoe hull. Let dry overnight then applied Total Boat Aluminum Finish Coat (Army Green). A week later took the canoe out into nearby lake and beaver ponds - thus dragging the canoe over logs through weedy areas. After I got home and inspected the hull, it was as if I just painted the hull - no paint scratches or scars. Paint provided excellent protection and proved to have outstanding adhesion.

January 24, 2019

Can't say enough about this product.
By xboats from Plant City, Florida

Verified Purchase

Anyone with experience in two part poly primers would be hard pressed to find one that compares to Total Boat Aluminum Barrier Coat. I have been using this product to restore a 1963 Lone Star aluminum boat and am impressed with it's ease of use, coverage, and most of all its adhesion properties. This stuff sticks to aluminum like the military grade epoxies I used during my time in the Coast Guard. As long as you prep your surfaces properly, you can't go wrong. Wear a respirator when applying, as it is quite potent. A standard 3/8 nap roller does the trick, just burn off the loose nap prior to applying. Thanks for a great product Jamestown!

January 1, 2019

Great Product
By xboats from Florida

This is a wonderful barrier coat primer that reminds me of the Mare Island Systems Epoxy Polyamide we used in the military. Easy to apply by roller, (don't use foam rollers though, it will destroy them), and lays down smooth. A gallon goes a long way if you only mix it in small batches. You will need to stir your parts for quite some time prior to mixing for best result. Use this in a well ventilated area, and wear respiratory protection as it is quite powerful from a fume perspective. This was my first experience with Total Boat and I am more than happy with the result. I would highly recommend this primer to anybody who is doing an aluminum boat restoration project.

1 of 2