Free shipping on orders over $99.99! Don't miss out!
$43.96 In Stock
Epifanes Multi Marine Primer
$43.96In Stock
Write A Review
3.18
Based on 9 Reviews
  • 5 Star

    44%

  • 4 Star

    33%

  • 3 Star

    0%

  • 2 Star

    0%

  • 1 Star

    22%

Reviews for Epifanes Multi Marine Primer

9 of 9 Reviews

May 19, 2020

so easy and so effective!
By Florida Paddler from Jacksonville, Florida

Verified Purchase

I used this to prime a fiberglass/epoxy finished kayak hull before using bright red topside paint. One coat of primer smoothed the surface and provided a great base for the paint. Bright finish with only 3 coats thanks to the primer.

April 6, 2020

The best primer I have ever used!
By Gregg from Murphy. N C

Verified Purchase

Epifanes primer is the best I have ever used! It goes on smooth and it's a little bit heavier than other primers. Takes a little longer to cure but it's worth the wait. Sans real smooth and will make your top coat look great. It's not advertised in the Jamestown catalog but you have to ask for it.

June 6, 2018

Would buy again
By Mike from Vermont

Verified Purchase

rolls on great, sands very well . . . a little more buildup would be nice, but I think it is a very good primer. Used it on the topsides of a new wooden sailboat.

April 21, 2013

Follow the instructions
By H2 from Kalamazoo, MI

I have just finished painting the interior of a small craft, having done the exterior hull last year. Multi marine primer works great but you MUST follow the directions - even call Epifanes if you wish. They will give detailed instructions on how to prepare the surfaces prior to painting. I have had no trouble and so far it has provided an excellent one part primer for the top coats of yacht enamel. First coat was diluted with Epifanes thinner (10:1) I have put 3 coats on prior to topcoats, sanding between each. I applied using chinese bristle brush. Good product, great customer service.

May 18, 2018

So far, so good.
By Capt. Rich from Chesapeake Bay

Verified Purchase

Not the easiest primer to sand but by far not the hardest. Left a nice finish with 220 grit and filled the grain on my 40' wooden mast nicely. Applied 2 coats and sanded with a palm sander and paper over a sanding sponge for the corners. Haven't painted the mast yet so not aware if it will stick or not. Will update later. So far I'm a happy camper,eh.....boater.

December 21, 2010

One tough primer
By Gordon the rowing maniac from Cornelius, NC

Dilute 5 to 10% with same brand of thinner. Spray using good technique and put down multiple thin coats. Let it cure before sanding between coats. It will give you a tough, superior base for the Monourethane paint. It is not forgiving, so keep a cool head and make any "repairs" when you sand. The tech help was very instructive. I used it on a rowing shell I was building.

May 17, 2010

Great primer with good ahesion
By BobVG from Muskegon, Michigan

I have used this on my side guard rails as I was tired of trying to keep varnish on them. I striped off the old varnish ,put on two coats of Epifanes multipurpose primer, and covered that with one component Epifanes enamel. That was 3 years ago and it still looks as good as the day I put it on. There are no short cuts and one must watch the temp, wind and humidity

June 25, 2013

How long do you have to paint your boat?
By Jake from Yarmouth, MA

Primed my wooden 17' Custom Fishing Boat. Probably would be a good primer if I had all summer to wait for it to dry.

October 20, 2008

I would not buy this again
By trailer sailer from Hermitage, PA

The first time I tried this product, I brushed it on. After a week of letting it "dry", it was still soft and could be easily dented with a fingernail. I tried sandding it, and it loaded 80 grit sandpaper so badly, I had to scrape it off with a putty knife. I tried a second coat rolling it on as thinly as I could. Again, I waited a week to try to get it to dry... I was finally able to wet sand it using 220 grit sandpaper.

1 of 1