Free shipping on orders over $99.99! Don't miss out!
$35.77 In Stock
Epifanes Rubbed Effect Varnish
$35.77In Stock
Write A Review
4.2
Based on 9 Reviews
  • 5 Star

    67%

  • 4 Star

    11%

  • 3 Star

    0%

  • 2 Star

    22%

  • 1 Star

    0%

Reviews for Epifanes Rubbed Effect Varnish

9 of 9 Reviews

May 12, 2020

An outstanding finish
By Larry from Ft. Myers Florida

Verified Purchase

I have been attempting to match an interior wall finish for several months and the rubbed finish matched it perfectly. Other areas now will receive a proper upgrade.

December 15, 2019

Rubbed Effect varnish - Epifanes
By Acornscaptain from Maine and Michigan

My old standby for rubbed effect/flat/statin finish varnish was Interlux #60. But they seem to have changed the formula and I find it is not so good as the old stuff, so I tried the Epifanes product for a rubbed effect. Once I got used to its personality I found that I really like it. From bare wood, application is best done over several build-up coats of Epifanes Gloss, because in so doing you will achieve a wonderful depth of finish that is not going to happen by using the Epifanes Rubbed Effect for build-ups. (I've been using the Epifanes Gloss Varnish for 30 + years, always with great results). Brush or a foam paddle is really a matter of using what you are familiar with. I use both, but with some preference for a nice Red Tree brush or the like. People have remarked about drying times and how much solvent to use, etc. There is no one best technique because these tung oil based varnishes seem to be quite sensitive to environmental conditions at time of application - temperature, dew point, humidity. The usual rules apply.... The SDS sheet is a little vague about what is in Epifanes' varnishes, but I would think Tung Oil, urethane resin and/or some phenolic resin. This is definitely good stuff.

June 4, 2019

Great product with great results
By Dan from NY

Verified Purchase

Applies well, results as expected, would buy again

October 25, 2014

Super easy to work with if!
By Wetankles from Alameda, California

Finish sanding and clean - then seal wood with a very very fast drying and super thin sealer. Have good ventilation. Resand - re-seal. Thin the epiphanies more than less - (if in doubt make it thinner) Apply about 7 coats total -obviously dry between coats - all thin coats with a foam brush - do not over coat and get any runs at all. Sand out any problems before adding any new coats. You may sand and clean every coat or so with 600 grit. After 3 coats you will be extremely pleased and by the 7th coat you will be a fine finish master! It is unbelievable how good it looks and how easy it is.

January 3, 2012

Great Product
By Al from Tampa Fl

I am in the process of restoring the interior/exterior of a 32 Endeavour sailboat and am using the Epifanes products on all of the teak surfaces. Preparation is key to great results. Sand according to instructions, clean with a vacuum cleaner the use a tack rag dilligently to remove all traces of dust. Note: If you're too lazy to do a lot of sanding, then you won't get the results you desire. Thin the product with epifanes thinner (about 5 to 10%) then apply sparingly. This product yields a finish that is beyond my expectations.... looks almost as good as a factory sprayed finish. Terrific product that I will use in future projects.

May 18, 2008

Ultimate Cabin Sole Finish
By BOHICA from Chicago

This is the best varnish I ever used, however, I did not apply it using a brush. I rebuilt nearly the entire interior of a Hunter 34...all new wood and cabin sole. I first used a clear penetrating epoxy sealer for the sole and did not wait for the full cure. At the suggestion of the CPES manufacturer, I applied Epiphane while the sealer was still tacky which draws the finish into the wood. Took two days to dry but after that, it when on beautifully. At the suggestion of a friend who restores old Chris Crafts, I used a foam brush. Yes, I thought he was off his rocker but the resulting finish was like it was professionaly sprayed on...furniture quality. Not one flaw and after 3 seasons, it still looks like the day I applied it and wearing like iron.

March 13, 2011

A bit more difficult than clear gloss
By Doug from Boston, MA

Epifanes Clear Gloss is my varnish of choice but sometimes a satin finish is desired. Epifanes Rubbed Effect Varnish provides a harder final coat and a more uniform sheen then can easily be achieved by hand rubbing a gloss spar varnish. Unfortunately, Epifanes Rubbed Effect Varnish is not as easy to work with as the clear gloss. Being faster drying, I find it somewhat difficult to adjust to. It reduces problems with dust but it is more difficult to brush on and extra care has to be taken to avoid bubbles. Thinning helps but not appreciably. I have been tempted to add a bit of Penetrol to reduce brush drag but I am not sure what its effect would be on the final coat. Despite these difficulties, I am very pleased with the results of one coat of Epifanes Rubbed Effect Varnish thinned by roughly 5% over six coats of Epifanes Clear Gloss Varnish coated in indoor dry conditions at a temperature of about 65F.

February 8, 2019

I would look for an alternative varnish.
By Lisa from Saunderstown, RI

Verified Purchase

This varnish was very difficult to apply without leaving brush strokes. It dries super fast and has no leveling properties. I tried applying it with a high quality Interlux varnish brush and USA made sponge brushes, both of which I have successfully used with other matte varnishes.

November 6, 2011

way too quick drying
By Seb from Greensboro, NC

Nothing to compare with the high gloss Epifanes spar varnish. This one is a lot too fast to dry for surfaces > 3 sqft. Cannot use the roll and foam brush method : it starts drying before you can use the foam brush to smooth out the bubbles. Disappointing for that price.

1 of 1