Free shipping on orders over $99.99! Don't miss out!
$37.02 In Stock
Epifanes Wood Finish Matte Varnish
$37.02In Stock
Write A Review
4.7
Based on 21 Reviews
  • 5 Star

    81%

  • 4 Star

    10%

  • 3 Star

    5%

  • 2 Star

    5%

  • 1 Star

    0%

Reviews for Epifanes Wood Finish Matte Varnish

10 of 21 Reviews

February 16, 2021

My Go-to spar varnish!
By Captain Will from St. Mary's City, MD

Verified Purchase

Produces a strong, durable finish when applied properly. Multiple coats are required for durability --I typically use 8-10, with 2-3 fresh coats per year.

November 3, 2020

Best varnish
By Jeff from Boston

Verified Purchase

We use this on many exterior thresholds, wood frames, etc. It is the go to for professionals and looks great. The Matte is more like a "satin" finish, which my customers prefer.

August 30, 2020

Looks good on Epifanes gloss spar varnish
By Jim from Austin, TX

Verified Purchase

Perfect finish coat(s) for Epifanes gloss spar varnish. Softens the look.

September 23, 2019

Exactly as advertised
By Fred from Georgetown SC

Verified Purchase

Used as topcoat (s) for new construction outdoor furniture. Very clear and informative instructions available online from JD. The product performance has been "spot on" thus far. Appearance is excellent.

September 2, 2019

Fantastic wood finish
By Steve from Houston, Texas

I used this product on a wood exterior door that has sun exposure in the Houston, Texas area. I cut it 50% with Epifanes thinner because it was so thick and applied 4 coats. Traditionally finishes on doors like this last maybe 5 years, Epifanes is going 8 and looks like I did it yesterday. Side note, I always write the acquisition and open date on all liquid products. This bad boy was 10 years old and I gave it to a friend to use on his boat because it is such a great product. The finish dried and looks 100%.

September 12, 2018

Fantastic finish for a front entry door
By GeoGene from San Diego, California

I finished our new mahogany front door with 4 coats Epifanes gloss varnish thinning and applying as recommended by Epifanes. Then finished with two coats Epifanes matte finish with the first coat cut with 25% thinner and the final coat 5% thinner. The door looks so fantastic everyone who comes to the house comments on the door. Even the UPS guy, who has probably seen thousands of front doors, said "I never saw such a beautiful front door" and I had not even mentioned we had a new front door. You can't beat this stuff. The man who made the door is from Germany and he said, "In Germany this is all we use on wood doors". This stuff is more expensive than other varnishes, but it is worth every penny.

July 31, 2018

A great matte finish for a high quality look
By CascadianCanoeWorks from Anacortes

Verified Purchase

It went on well (brushing on it handles different than epifanes high gloss but not bad just different) and dries nice and even. After 4 coats of high gloss this canoe looked so nice I almost didn't put this last finishing coat on the interior but I went ahead and I really like the toned down, rich look!

July 24, 2018

Awesome marine varnish
By Elkboy from New Milford ct

Verified Purchase

Levels out nice but must be cut with thinner to flow and brush out evenly

August 17, 2016

Epiphanes Woodfinish Matte
By N/A from Central Vermont

Verified Purchase

I use Woodfinish Matte on furniture. I spray it, and it flows out beautifully, and dries to a lovely, even sheen. I highly recommend this product.

November 11, 2015

Fantastic Outdoor Finish
By Spudderoni from Royal Center, IN

Verified Purchase

Used on antique glider. It looks wonderful.

1 of 3