Free shipping on orders over $99.99! Don't miss out!
$84.96 Out of Stock
Interlux Perfection Plus Two Part Varnish
$84.96Out of Stock
Write A Review
3.19
Based on 15 Reviews
  • 5 Star

    40%

  • 4 Star

    33%

  • 3 Star

    7%

  • 2 Star

    13%

  • 1 Star

    7%

Reviews for Interlux Perfection Plus Two Part Varnish

10 of 15 Reviews

September 9, 2019

Way easier than I thought!
By samiam from Lake Tahoe

Verified Purchase

I must say I was a bit intimidated to use a two part varnish but the process was easy and I got a great result. I would recommend a Badger Hair brush when applying.

February 22, 2016

definately buy this product again
By Khin from Great Falls, Virginia

Verified Purchase

used brush turn out great but hard to get without microscopic bubbles

October 26, 2015

Interlux Perfection Plus
By Khin from Great Falls, VA

Verified Purchase

Wood deck and racing hull

June 25, 2014

great product
By DS from NY

Verified Purchase

This product is great for areas you only want to or can varnish once a season. In this case a teak swim platform. Virtually impossibel to do in season because proximity to waterline.

April 20, 2014

very shiny!
By blindfolded skipper from Rkpt

Verified Purchase

if any of you have ever used "Bristol finish" this blows it away and doesn't smell as bad, it tacks up quicker and is very durable! lastly gloss like you wouldn't believe!!

February 19, 2009

OUT DOES AND OUT LASTS BRISTOL FINISH !
By LUCKY DOG III 43 EGG HARBOR from CT.

I USED BRISTOL IN 2007 AND BY THE END OF SUMMER IT FAILED!! USED INTERLUX LAST YEAR 2008 AND STILL LOOKS LIKE THE DAY I PUT IT ON EXCELLANT PRODUCT FOR NORTHEAST

August 20, 2020

Work fast in hot weather!
By Aviator from Sarasota, Florida

Perfection lasts 3 to 4 times as long as traditional spar varnish. On a horizontal exterior surface, spar varnish has a life of 3 to 4 months in our climate, whereas Perfection will last about a year in full sun. Where protected from the sun, Perfection can last 5 to 10 years. We use Awlgrip T0031 reducer with Perfection, instead of Interlux reducer. I works better in hot weather and seems to bubble less; and be a little slower to evaporate. When applying Perfection varnish in 90 degree weather, you gotta work fast 'cause i the brush will drag in any area 30 seconds after you lay down the varnish. It can help to have a spotter with a light to immediately spot misses or "holidays" or runs before it's too late to brush them out. On large, flat surfaces (like a transom), lay down the Perfection with a 6" or smaller white fine-foam roller with rounded ends. Use vertical strokes to lay down a THIN coat (this stuff runs like crazy) of Perfection, and tip it with horizontal strokes. Spread it out thin or it will run. If it's hot, go like crazy like you are in an old silent movie. Perfection is clear, so the finish may be lighter than desired, but it can be applied over spar varnish to give traditional color. Sanding-sealer then 3 coats of varnish. Wait a week before applying Perfection over varnish or it will lift the varnish.

December 18, 2014

Just What I Need but a Few Tricky Bits
By Tom from Yellow Springs, Ohio

I purchased this varnish in order to do some tests for a larger project. I found the packaging very good, the mixing easy and brush application very satisfactory. Good coverage, great wet-out and a perfect urethane gloss. Adhesion appears to be excellent and in six months outdoors it has mainatined a perfect gloss so I expect to see it around in 4 years or so. Like many finishes the application and drying take some getting use to and clibration. In order to get the smooth gloss one has to use it at cooler temperatures around 60 to 65. Much warmer and it drys too fast for good wet-out. Next problem is to get it cured before the evening dew gets to it. As a yacht varnish to be used outdoors it is very difficult to find the right "window" of time and temperature to assure it is dry prior to the evening dew. Too early in the day and the substrate is still damp, too late and there is moisture damage overnight. I ended up covering the job the night before to keep the surface dry, putting the Perfection on as soon as the fog cleared and then forcing the drying with IR lamps and covering the forced coating for the next evening. Beautiful!

December 11, 2013

Great Product
By Bathroom DIY from Eau Claire, WI

I talked with Interlux and they recommended this product for a bathroom, and it worked great!!!

December 3, 2012

Great product...
By John S from Danville, CA

Just used this over West System Clear epoxy on decks of my mahogany runabout for first time. Despite some varnishes advertising being clear, they often have slight color (didn't want varnish to discolor deck seems). This product is clear and very glossy. I was able to apply 3 coats back to back as a base and then two more(roll and tip). Came out great. Can't vouch for durability yet but am very pleased vs. regular varnish so far even taking cost into consideration.

1 of 2