Free shipping on orders over $99.99! Don't miss out!
$29.87 Limited Stock
Interlux Schooner Gold Varnish
$29.87Limited Stock
Write A Review
2.3
Based on 22 Reviews
  • 5 Star

    18%

  • 4 Star

    5%

  • 3 Star

    14%

  • 2 Star

    14%

  • 1 Star

    50%

Reviews for Interlux Schooner Gold Varnish

10 of 22 Reviews

July 27, 2021

simply the best
By nobody from the world

in response to the negative reviews by amateurs - this varnish is the gold standard and has been for many years. Please do your homework and learn how to apply varnish. Of course, you need to thin this product, and interlux makes the best product for that as well.

February 23, 2021

Follow the Directions from Interlux
By Boat Builder Mack from Boston, MA

I can see why some of the reviews are negative, saying that its too thick to use out of the can. From the Interlux website you can pull the data sheet for the product and it gives the thinning requirements. First Coat Thin 50%, Second Coat Thin 25%, all following coats Thin 15%. I used Special thinner 216 because of the cold weather, otherwise I'd use 333. I emailed Interlux asking why they changed the formula for Schooner, I guess its to keep the VOC's down so its not shipped as hazardous material. If you don't like mixing your own varnish best to stick with Schooner and not Schooner Gold.

June 29, 2020

Very nice Varnish!
By Lee, boat builder from Wantage NJ

Verified Purchase

Used it on the new mahogany deck over epoxy finish. 2 coats brushed and tipped. Then 2 coats rolled and tipped. Make sure your surface prep is perfect, as it does not hide defects. Also strain it as directed.

November 1, 2015

Fantastic stuff
By Finnster from Mamaroneck, NY

Worked as advertised. Needed some thinning. Brushed very easily with a 2 in. badger brush. There's barely a brush mark afterwards. I have always used Zspar. I like this one a lot too!

May 28, 2010

Great for spray application..
By Nautical Lumber Co from Warren Mi

The original schooner #96 works well for brushing. However, we find that the new Schooner Gold, when thinned properly, is great for spraying & lays down very nice!

April 27, 2011

Interlux Schooner Gold Varnish
By Steve from Lake St. Clair, MI

Bought this product to match the old Schooner Gold color, it was a good match. However as others have said the varnish was thicker then the old version and did not flow out well. Found that if I added about 5% thinner it helped

December 3, 2009

Schooner Gold revisited
By Ron Smith from West Palm Beach , Fl.

After a very bad start due to mislabeling about being able to use straight from the can we gave the product another try. I think it is now very much like the old Flagship varnish of Z- Spar, it has to be reduced. We are now trying to find the perfect mix of 333 and product so it levels and will not reduce its gloss.

November 30, 2009

Undecided compared to standard Schooner
By OB Woodie from San Diego,CA

I am refinishing the wood on my 1950 Ford Woodie. I have used Schooner for my interior, mahogany panels and they look great. A marine store told me to try the Gold. I'm going to see if I can return it for the Schooner. It is very thick and I thinned it 1/3 for the 1st coat over Maple wood sealed with a penetrating epoxy. I don't think you would use this unthinned. The amber seems slightly grayish compared to the rich gold hue of Schooner. I do like the claim it is less scratch resistant. I'll maybe try it again before I trade it in. It does dry more slowly than Schooner.

May 1, 2019

difficult to apply
By billybob from orange beach al.

product very difficult to work with. had to add thinner constantly during application in perfect weather conditions. left wavy surface on a perfectly flat surface. had to restrip teak and start over after 50 labor hours of work.

March 14, 2010

Not a replacement for Interlux Schooner
By Lapstrake from Hartwick, NY

After using a quart of Interlux Schooner Gold, I plan on trying Interlux Schooner. Gold is simply too thick, especially in the cold North East. It goes on like #50 motor oil in the middle of winter, sags, and is absolutely not the easiest varnish to apply. Perhaps it will find some use at the equator. I am hoping that Interlux Schooner will be more useable. Why buy a product that must be thinned? Why are they selling "the concentrate" instead of what you actually want to use?

1 of 3