Free shipping on orders over $99.99! Don't miss out!
$43.50 In Stock
AwlSpar Varnish
$43.50In Stock
Write A Review
4.7
Based on 10 Reviews
  • 5 Star

    70%

  • 4 Star

    30%

  • 3 Star

    0%

  • 2 Star

    0%

  • 1 Star

    0%

Reviews for AwlSpar Varnish

10 of 10 Reviews

January 29, 2018

Yes I would buy more
By Sensational from Wilm, DE

Verified Purchase

Easy to apply with good results. Wear a respirator and apply in a well ventilated area.

October 6, 2015

GreatStuff
By Jack from Rockport, TX

Verified Purchase

This is an excellant varnish. It has a rich amber color and a hade glossy finish. I used on the handrails of by boat as a foundation for the AwlBrite finish.

December 8, 2014

A great product with excellent results
By Sandra Kay mvDestinees from Traveling the West coast of Forida

Verified Purchase

It makes nice wood beautiful and poor quality wood look better.

May 15, 2014

The only varnish I use
By JEFFREYP from NEW LONDON, NH

Verified Purchase

This product is best applied with a badger hair brush after 220 grit sanding, tack cloth wipe and acetone wipe. Coats build up quickly, are durable with excellent gloss. Best to apply first coat to bare teak with a 50/50 mix of thinner and varnish to allow product to soak into wood finish.

January 9, 2012

Awl Spar M3131
By BIG T from Madisonville, LA

M3131 is what I use. I have become an expert at application. Steps to success; Sand surface using 220 grit or higher depending on condition of existing varnish. 1- tape varnish area well. OK to use regular blue tape. 2- Pour 2-3" of varnish into a hard plastic cup. Thin cups desintigrate. 3- Mix a cap full of acetone to cut thickness. 4- use foam brush to apply. 5- Make long unpressured strokes to avoid globbing 6- allow to dry well before applying next coat. 7- Apply 6-8 coats and do not apply durin g extremely humid periods 8- OK to leave tape on for a long period. When ready to remove tape, spray tape with garden hose and it will be easy to remove.

November 4, 2010

Loved it
By Dave from Chicago

It was a pleasure to use, went on well and recoatable. High gloss... nice

November 4, 2008

AWL GRIP Varnish
By Morning Wood from Allen, Md.

I have used several varnishes over the years. I was a Z Spar Captains fan forever. Petit bought them and the product suffered. I found this product and it is a pure delight to use. Great leveling qualities and easy to use. The gloss os awesome. I don't think you will be sorry Give it a try.

March 19, 2014

Very good Product
By KEVINB from BIGFORK, MT

Verified Purchase

We're using this on the interior of a 1924 Q Class sloop. Product brushes well and leaves a nice smooth finish.

February 17, 2014

Nothing Better!!!
By Dave the boat guy from Essex, CT

Verified Purchase

For A traditional finish, with high build characteristics, nothing, in my opinion beats Awl Spar. To get your build coats on quickly, evenly, and with a great efficiency this is the product! I've been using it for years and will continue to use it in the future

April 8, 2010

Nice stuff but it is thin
By Dry Pond Boat Works from Sharon, MA

Very nice but beware that it is considerably thinner than their High Solids version. You actually need a softer brush than the Epifanes brushes which are made to "work" a heavier varnish. It is more of a "gliding" varnish that yields a smooth thin coat. We also sprayed this and it was great. Conversely, the High Solids was a bit heavy to spray and left slight orange peel.

1 of 1