Free shipping on orders over $99.99! Don't miss out!
$32.69 In Stock
Interlux Inter-Prime
$32.69In Stock
Write A Review
4.7
Based on 10 Reviews
  • 5 Star

    70%

  • 4 Star

    30%

  • 3 Star

    0%

  • 2 Star

    0%

  • 1 Star

    0%

Reviews for Interlux Inter-Prime

10 of 10 Reviews

February 26, 2020

High Quality Stuff
By Robert from Lake George, NY

Verified Purchase

I have used this on boats and interior post and beam construction. It is wonderful to apply by brush. FYI- I do believe that I am experiencing some compatibility issues with petit brand urethanes. There appears to be a minor bonding issue. Impacts, even minor ones, seem to cause de-lamination.

June 20, 2019

Good stuff! it's what the factory used on my Egg Harbor.
By Oldboatguy from Grand Haven, Michigan

Verified Purchase

I used 3 coats on my toe rails & then 5 coats of Interlux Schooner. The old girl looks a lot better now.

January 13, 2019

First Class Wood sealer.
By Stew from Joisey

Verified Purchase

Product is so good I us it to seal the guitars I hand make.

December 18, 2018

The first step in a great varnish job
By Peter, the Shellback guy from Dexter NY

Verified Purchase

I always use 1026 as the first two or three coats on bare wood prior to varnishing. It seals the grain and goes on easily. Then I overcoat with at least 4 coats of varnish. Interlux Schooner is my preference. A capful of Penetrol added to a cup of varnish gives perfect flow out. 1026 skims over in the can after it has been opened. Bloxogen added to the can helps to preserve it. Putting it into a sealed plastic bag should work as well.

July 19, 2018

i would recommend this product
By guy from oak bluffs ma

Verified Purchase

I used it to seal the underside of oak plank that will be the bed to a 1955 chevy pick up that I am restoring

March 16, 2018

Great product
By Dude from Benicia

Goes on easy dries quickly Sands easily Sealed wood nicely

October 27, 2015

Makes Varnish Special
By Mudshark from Mooresville, NC

This made a huge difference in the final results. I sanded the entire boat twice, then one coat of this, then sanded again, then another coat of this, then sanded again. Then varnish/sand/varnish - The results are beautiful. I got TONS of compliments at the wooden boat show. You should feature this stuff in one of your how-to videos, more than just a mention. It is a MUST USE in my opinion.

March 28, 2014

good product
By MYLES to go from NINETY SIX, SC

Verified Purchase

first time I've used this on this chris craft. we'll see how it works

June 16, 2013

The key to beautiful bright work.
By Dtskibo from Buffalo, New York

Two coats of Interprime quickly fills the grain and seals the surface of any wood. Easy to apply and sand, the product is an excellent base for varnish. The product has a nice color and fills and dries quickly. Two top coats of your favorite varnish and your bright work will have that wonderful wet look. Saves on application time and expensive top coat material. This product has gone from a "boat item" to being used on all of my wood work projects. My only caution is that once the can is open, even if it is well sealed it will set off in a few days. Use it or loose it.

January 29, 2012

First time using sealer
By Sailorrandy from on the boat East coast

End grain on hand rails always seems to open and the varnish breaks down long before the rest of the rail. Sealer seems to fill grain and makes a great base for varnish. Will not need as many coats of varnish to get that "Candy Gloss" coat. Time will tell if it prolongs the life of the varnish on the end grain.

1 of 1