Free shipping on orders over $99.99! Don't miss out!
$45.50 In Stock
Epifanes Rapidcoat and Rapidclear Varnishes
$45.50In Stock
Write A Review
4.4
Based on 14 Reviews
  • 5 Star

    71%

  • 4 Star

    14%

  • 3 Star

    0%

  • 2 Star

    14%

  • 1 Star

    0%

Reviews for Epifanes Rapidcoat and Rapidclear Varnishes

10 of 14 Reviews

August 15, 2018

yes
By jr from minnesota

Verified Purchase

great as overcoat without thinning

July 21, 2017

Highly Recommded for Weathered Teak
By TeakFreak from Chicago IL

Verified Purchase

Great Tinted Varnish for refinishing weathered wood, especially exterior wood that needs just a bit more even color added after you've done your sanding and applied a Teak Sealer as a primer. For me with Teak pieces, 2 coats of RapidCoat generally do it . Then you add Clear Varnish coats after that as needed for more UV protection without adding anymore color to the wood grain.

January 19, 2016

Great product
By The Irish Armenian from Brentwood Missouri

Verified Purchase

I have refinished numerous furniture pieces over the years but have never had the occasion to use Epifanes Rapid. We constructed a new house with a mahogany entry door and I was leery of using a spar varnish since the results are spotty at best. I reasoned that using a boat type varnish would fit the bill and decided on Epifanes. The results are amazing. I applied 4 coats thinned about 15% and couldn't be happier with the look and feel of the door. time will tell if it holds up to the weather but initial results are extremely satisfying. I also like the fact that I can re-coat without sanding which increases efficiency of the system overall. I would definitely recommend this product.

July 20, 2014

Worked great
By Wolfhard from TORRANCE, CA

Verified Purchase

Had 17 exterior colums with a Walnut stain to refinish that were poorly done and hadn't been touched in 6 years being exposed to California sun. Cleaned dirt with mineral spirit, filled cracks with exterior exterior wood sealer, sanded with 320, wiped with sticky rags to remove dust, wiped on American Walnut stain with old T-shirt rags. Applied first diluted Rapid coat with Epifane 1 1/2 brush. Diluted with 50% mineral spirit. Applied second coat with rapid coat, 10% diluted. Applied third and fourth coat the same. No brush marks. Although recommendation for Rapid Coat is not to dilute, I was afraid it wouldn't adhere well, hence the 50% dilution first. The 10% was needed to achieve better flow since all the surfaces were vertical. I didn't sand between coat and the results were astonishing. I am hoping that I have to recoat every two years instead of every year, but time will tell.

September 23, 2011

Acres of Varnish!
By Capt Mack from Virginia beach, Virginia

Usually requires some thinning (turpentine) and a bit of Penatrol is advised. Application of several coats of Woodfinish Gloss (no sanding between coats) followed by light sanding then two coats of the Clear (sand between them) for maximum weather protection and UV shielding. This comes close to the maximum protecion that I have seen.

August 7, 2011

Great Product
By killer from charlotte, nc

I used this to build up coats on the interior of a 1959 Barbour speedboat. The boat has a lap-strake plywood hull which is not the pretiest nor smoothest wood to finish. With only 2 coats, the interior looks great! I wish I would have used this product on some other varnishing projects...it would have cut days and at least 10 coats of regular varnish.

August 17, 2009

Nice Product
By Willow Lake Woods from New York

Application was straight forward. I had no problems with runs or brush marks. Rapid Coat provided a nice amber timt to the wood that really brought out the warmth of the wood. The varnish preparation kit is an impressive one-stop solution put together by someone who has done this a time or two. Professionally packed and allows you to open the box and start working.

July 1, 2009

Good product
By Mike the fixer from Madison, WI

Spreads out nicely and flows together well. I did not notice any "brush marks", but a few "lap marks". This may be my technique rather than a fault of the product. I was able to add 2 coats a day without trouble. Not sanding between coats saves time and effort, but also means less dust floating in the air when I apply the new coat. I was able to put 6 coats on both sides of a hatchboard in a week (12 applications).

April 30, 2009

Thank Heaven!
By S/V Amata Marie from Tavernier, Florida Keys

I have a CSY sailboat with alot of wood. I pretty much have it all done with Rapid Coat. Living in The Keys, the sun is super strong, but the Rapid Coat has proven to hold up for 9 months now. She is ready for 4 top coats that will take only a week to put on if the weather holds up.

January 20, 2009

Outstanding
By Hal Hopkins from Rock Hall, Maryland

This product is fantastic. It goes on smooth and best of all I can recoat in 6 hours at 50 degrees. As it is the dead of winter I am bringing what pieces I can inside until the weather breaks. I would much rather sail than do bright work but I also want to protect my investment.

1 of 2